Skip to content

In the vicinity

Former forge                                          19

Ludwig Zeil, a nailsmith, built the property around 1845. The workshop directly overlooking the Durbach was built in 1890. Since then, several generations and different families have operated the forge as the village blacksmith shop. That included the blacksmith’s trade, which was essential for horses, oxen, and cows in the agricultural valley. The village blacksmith earned his daily bread sharpening vineyard hoes, pickaxes, and other implements.

The blacksmith usually had a farm on the side, with wife and children taking on a large part of this work to ensure their livelihood. Berthold Bahr was the last village blacksmith who worked the anvil until 2001.

Mastering metal with the help of fire and water has always been both fascinating and terrifying.

The blacksmith’s central role in the rural economy, therefore, guaranteed him a high social standing.

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner